Daytime Emmys 2024: General Hospital, Kelly Clarkson Show Take Top Honors

English: Michelle Stafford screenshot from LM2913 – Making Difficult Choices, uploaded to Vimeo by the licensee under CC-BY-3.0 Unported licence on August 16, 2022.

The 51st annual Daytime Emmy Awards were held across two nights, June 7th and 8th, recognizing excellence in American daytime television programming. Here’s a breakdown of the key winners and noteworthy changes:

Night One: Major Awards

  • Daytime Drama Series: General Hospital (ABC) – This marks the fourth consecutive year for GH’s dominance.
  • Daytime Talk Show: The Kelly Clarkson Show (Syndicated) – Extending its winning streak to four years.
  • Entertainment News Series: Entertainment Tonight (Syndicated) – Maintaining its five-year reign.
  • Lead Actor – Daytime Drama: Thorsten Kaye (Ridge Forrester, The Bold and the Beautiful) – Second consecutive win for Kaye.
  • Lead Actress – Daytime Drama: Michelle Stafford (Phyllis Summers, The Young and the Restless)
  • Supporting Actor – Daytime Drama: Robert Gossett (Marshall Ashford, General Hospital)
  • Supporting Actress – Daytime Drama: Courtney Hope (Sally Spectra, The Young and the Restless)
  • Daytime Talk Host: Mark Consuelos & Kelly Ripa (Live with Kelly and Mark)

Night Two: Creative Arts & Lifestyle Awards

  • Lifetime Achievement Awards: Melody Thomas Scott (“The Young and the Restless”), Edward J. Scott (producer), Lidia Bastianich (TV chef)
  • First-Time Winners:
    • Robert Downey Jr. (“Downey’s Dream Cars”) – Lifestyle Program
    • Buddy Valastro (“Legends of the Fork”) – Culinary Host
    • Dwyane Wade (“Dads”) – Short Form Program (executive producer)
  • Other Notable Wins:
    • Dick Van Dyke (Guest Actor – Daytime Drama, “Days of Our Lives”) – Becomes the oldest Daytime Emmy winner at 98.
    • “Be My Guest with Ina Garten” (Culinary Series) – First Emmy win.
    • “Judy Justice” (Legal/Courtroom Program)

Category Changes

  • Eliminated: Outstanding Promotional Announcement
  • Merged: Outstanding Writing for a Daytime Non-Fiction Series and Outstanding Writing for a Daytime Non-Fiction Special into Outstanding Writing for a Daytime Non-Fiction Program
  • Split: Daytime Program Host into Daytime Personality – Daily and Daytime Personality – Non-Daily

Additional Notes

  • The 2023 ceremony, recognizing programs from 2022, saw “General Hospital” lead with seven wins, followed by “The Kelly Clarkson Show” with six.
  • Associated Television International (ATI) co-produced the Daytime Emmys with the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS).

Written by Influencer Editorial Team

Managed By Influencer Team - United Kingdom

Kate middleton

Princess of Wales Expresses Regret in Missing Trooping the Colour Rehearsal

microsoft oUbzUdGc unsplash

Sharpening Your Skills: Essential Traits for the Modern Entrepreneur