Netflix, one of the world’s largest streaming platforms, is launching a crackdown on password sharing. The company aims to put an end to users who are sharing their passwords with people outside of their households. In a bid to verify a device, Netflix will require its users to watch its service at least once every 31 days. This new measure is set to be implemented in the UK from late March, following its implementation in South America.
Netflix believes that around 100 million users are quietly using its service for free, leading to billions of dollars in lost revenue. To address this issue, the company is set to limit access to its service to a single primary location based on the account holder’s Wi-Fi network and the devices connected to it. In order to access the streaming service, users must watch it on a device at least once every 31 days to verify it. If a device is not verified, Netflix says it may be blocked, effectively preventing users from accessing the streaming service.
Netflix defines a “Netflix household” as the primary location of an account holder, based on their home Wi-Fi network and the devices connected to it. To ensure that your household can stream Netflix, the company will require users to sign in and watch the service over Wi-Fi at their primary location at least once every 31 days. In the event of a move, users can request to change their primary location via the “Get Help” section in the Netflix app. This will result in a text or email verification link asking users to update and confirm their new details.
The company says that users should be able to stream while temporarily away from home on verified devices. These are devices that users have streamed Netflix on at least once in the past 31 days. This will allow users to watch Netflix even when they are away from home. To avoid any disruptions while traveling, Netflix suggests using the chosen device to watch the service over the home Wi-Fi before leaving. In the event of difficulties accessing Netflix on a device while traveling, users can request a temporary code to be sent to their phone or email by following the on-screen prompts. This will verify the device and allow users to watch Netflix for seven consecutive days.